Unemployment Style

The Lighter Side of Unemployment

If I Had a Dollar… July 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — cherylsjohnson @ 4:43 pm

If I had a dollar for every time a family member, well really just my mom, asked me if I’ve found a job yet — I wouldn’t have to work – I’d be a Millionaire!  Seriously, I talk to my mom every week and she always finds a way to work it into the conversation.  Now I know she is only asking because she’s concerned and cares about me but it makes me feel a little embarrassed – like I’m disappointing her.  Not sure why I feel this way because when others inquire about my job status I feel fine answering the question.  I guess I feel like they understand what’s happening in the marketplace – they live and breathe it every day.  But not my mom.  She’s never had to work outside the home.  She’s from the generation where most moms didn’t work outside the home; they raised the children and kept the home clean.  She truly never experienced the lack of work – she raised five kids all by herself.  She cooked three meals a day, attended sporting events, chauffeured kids to and from activities – never a moment to herself.  And I truly appreciate her for that! 

I know, I know I shouldn’t feel embarrassed about telling my mom that I don’t have a job yet but I still believe that the majority of us never want to disappoint our moms.

Stay positive.

Cheryl

cjohnson0114@verizon.net

www.linkedin.com/in/csmithjohnson

https://cherylsjohnson.wordpress.com

http://www.visualcv.com/csjohnson

 

3 Responses to “If I Had a Dollar…”

  1. Pete Says:

    So true! If not your mom then it is your dad that has that same question ready at the first sign it is you on the phone.

  2. Walter Says:

    Moms are usually like that. They love us so much that they are concerned about our future. The feeling of embarrassment for letting her down is natural, because you also care for her.

    There’s time for everything. I know you’ll have your job one day.

    🙂

  3. K Says:

    My mom asks me if I got a new client after the first face to face meeting, and when I say, we’re still talking, she just sighs.


Leave a Reply

