Unemployment Style

The Lighter Side of Unemployment

To Blog or Not to Blog – That is the Question July 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — cherylsjohnson @ 3:17 pm

Well I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for some time now, just didn’t want it to be boring and uneventful.  So I thought, why not make it humorous – taking a look at the lighter side of unemployment (if there is such a thing).

First a brief background on myself – I became unemployed at the end of January 2009 along with millions of others.  I was the Global Advertising Manager at EDS, a technology services company in Plano, Texas.  My position was eliminated when HP acquired EDS.  I loved what I did – managed all the advertising for the company including but not limited to advertising and media strategies, advertising production, media planning and placement, research projects, managed multiple advertising agencies, worked with Sales and field marketing teams, worked with media reps, etc. 

I guess you could say I have a PASSION for advertising.  Most people think of advertising as a commercial, a print ad, a radio spot – while that is for the most part true it’s the process that excites me the most – the strategy (both creative and media),  how the concept was born, working with the creative teams, production, timelines, budgets (most of the time lack of budget), etc.  After all that is said and done the final product that can speak for itself and make the brand proud. 

I have stories, boy do I have stories from my JCPenney and EDS days that would make lots of people laugh and some cry but that’s another blog in the making.

During the last several months I’ve been attending classes and group work sessions at Lee Hecht Harrison (LHH), a talent solutions company (www.llh.com).  This service was part of my severance package.  I now have an updated resume, which I’ve revised four times in five months – I’ll talk about that later – a marketing plan for Brand ME, and a group of supportive LHH friends, which I’ll be discussing in later posts.

So please stay tuned for some funny stories along with a few rejections that I just have to tell you about.  I hope I can brighten the day of a few unemployed soles like me.

Stay positive!

Cheryl

cjohnson0114@verizon.net

www.linkedin.com/in/csmithjohnson

https://cherylsjohnson.wordpress.com

http://www.visualcv.com/csjohnson

 

3 Responses to “To Blog or Not to Blog – That is the Question”

  1. Julie Says:

    Great start Cheryl!
    Can’t wait to read the next installment of the trails and tribulations of the unemployed.

  2. Jamey Says:

    WTG Cheryl – hope you enjoy blogging – it can be addicting!

  3. Diane Says:

    Great article Cheryl, enjoyed reading yours, instead of the articles on how to find a job!


Leave a Reply

